Ramona asked if I had ever finished Wintergirls, and what I thought of it, which reminded me that I never posted my review – mostly because I like to post reviews of things that I can imagine myself recommending, and I can’t imagine recommending this one unless someone asked specifically for books about anorexia.

Wintergirls Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
While I admired Anderson’s writing, and the characters were strangely compelling, and it was a mesmerizing insight into the world of anorexia, it was a difficult book to read. Reading it was a tense experience, wanting to know how it would resolve but not really wanting to go along for the ride. It’s a topic that’s necessarily painful, and I was happy to close the book and move on to something with more of a balance between light and dark.

At times the imagery seemed almost over the top – Lia regularly references fairy tale imagery – but it felt both appropriate to the subject matter, which is horrifying enough to seem like something from an old, un-whitewashed fairy tale, and appropriate to the character, a girl who devours and frequently mentions her favorite fantasy books. I certainly wouldn’t recommend it to just anyone, but more to readers (of any age) who want or need to know more about anorexia from the inside, told in a distinct and moving voice.

View all my reviews >>

