After the Moment After the Moment by Garret Freymann-Weyr

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
My favorite characters in this teen-romance-from-a-male-perspective were the younger step-sister and her friend, and perhaps it says something about the chemistry of the main romance that I was more interested in their side-story than in the headline act. While Leigh’s voice was thoughtful and compelling, I didn’t really care what happened in his relationship with Maia, and the 2003 setting felt occasionally forced. I wanted the mentions of the beginning of the war in Iraq to add dimension to the story, and maybe they would for other readers, but Leigh’s regular comments on politics were unexpectedly off-putting to me. My reaction aside, I don’t feel like I’ve seen many other fictional responses to the beginning of the war from a teen’s perspective. There’s Sunrise Over Fallujah, of course, but that’s from a soldier’s perspective. Reading the two books side by side would be an interesting study in class and how that informs perspective.

View all my reviews >>

