Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It by Maile Meloy

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
It’s not that I didn’t think the stories were excellent – the characters were crisp and individual and immediately grasped, the style didn’t call attention to itself, and many of the stories were wrenching in unexpected ways. They would be fascinating to study in a short story class, or discuss in a book group, but I can’t really say I enjoyed them. Meloy’s two novels – Liars and Saints A Novel and A Family Daughter A Novel – let you stay with the characters through ups and downs and generations, and there was a little more exuberance there that hooked me. I would recommend this collection to people who don’t mind a little darkness in their short stories and appreciate economical writing.

View all my reviews >>

