I’m going to yet another Mock Printz in January (and a Mock Newbery, but more on that later).  This is my…fourth?  I starting going in 2007, which doesn’t seem all that long ago, but 2007, 2008, 2009, and this one will be 2010.  Okay, I can count!

Here’s this year’s reading list:

Links are to my reviews here.  I just finished listening to If I Stay, so I’ll have a review up soon.  I wouldn’t be surprised to see Wintergirls pick up the award (mock and/or real) in January – the writing is really excellent – but gosh, I just didn’t like it.  I know that’s not an award criteria, but I’d rather see Marcelo or North of Beautiful get a shiny sticker.  Although I almost want to reread those two to see how they hold up, after I’ve read the rest of the list.  Perhaps on audio – Marcelo, at least, is out on audio.

I enjoyed Heroes of the Valley, but I would never have considered it for the Printz.  Maybe because it felt a bit younger to me, or just because it didn’t have that ‘wow’ quality, I’m not sure.  I’m looking forward to the discussion on that one.

Now it’s time to get cracking on the rest of the list – I’ve of Madman Underground on my shelf, and it’s enormous.  I’m looking forward to the Mary Pearson, since I loved The Adoration of Jenna Fox, and Crazy Beautiful sounds really interesting but hasn’t come into the library yet.  I’ll keep updating as I read through the list.

