Flash Burnout Flash Burnout by L.K. Madigan

A strong, realistic YA novel with a great blend of humor and grit. Blake has a great voice as a character, and I loved reading his interactions with his family, his girlfriend, his teachers, and his friend-who’s-a-girl. Plus, local author! Local setting! There are some heavier issues – a side character is a meth addict, although the topic is never dealt with in detail – it’s more about the way that kind of addiction affects other people. I loved that I didn’t know how the story would resolve, yet Blake’s actions always fit his character. And the ending is realistic – there is no happily ever after, but there is some resolution and a sense of moving forward. You know what I would love? Not a sequel, but a companion story from another character’s point of view. Marissa, his brother, Shannon – I don’t care, but it would be a hoot to see Blake from someone else’s point of view. View all my reviews >>

