I just finished up listening to Arthur Slade’s The Hunchback Assignments on audio (review to come), and now I’ve started listening to Lloyd Alexander’s The Book of Three, the first book in the Prydain chronicles. Now I finally know how to pronounce all those Welsh names!  All the pronunciation guides in the world couldn’t make anything stick in my mind, but listening to the entire series on audio will hopefully do the trick.

I can’t believe I haven’t reread the Prydain books before now.  Oh, I’m sure I read them several times as a kid – enough that my sister and I had some joke about them that I can’t quite remember (or rather, I can’t remember why it seemed so funny at the time).  But I’ve never reread them as an adult.  But when The Book of Three popped up as #82 on Fuse #8’s Top 100 Children’s Novels poll, and a commenter mentioned the audiobooks, I jumped right on it.

And if you’re not eagerly reading the results of the poll each morning as Betsy posts them, what on earth is wrong with you?  Actually, I probably shouldn’t be reading them because my already crazy to-read list is getting even crazier, between the ones I’ve never read (The Wolves of Willoughby Chase) and the ones I want to reread (Beverly Cleary, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Sydney Taylor, Lloyd Alexander, Zilpha Keatley Snyder, and on and on).  Thank goodness for audiobooks, which let me reread without taking time away from reading newer books.  Now I just need to start repeating those Welsh names like a mantra…pri-DAIN pri-DAIN pri-DAIN.

