It’s getting out of control.  Not my to-read list (that’s always out of control).  Not the number of holds waiting for me to check them out (ditto).  No, I’m reading too many books at the same time.  Book indecision.  I’m having one of those weeks where I pick up a new book at a moment’s notice.

I started in on The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick, the last of this year’s Newbery Honors that I’d yet to read.  I’m reading along and enjoying it, but it’s not quite matching my mood.  So I go for something a little weightier – Jim Murphy’s Truce, another one I’d been meaning to read ever since I heard about it.  I actually manage to finish this one, probably because it’s short.  And has lots of pictures.  And is about WWI, which I don’t think shows up often enough in books.

The next day I faithfully bring Homer to work with me, but I leave it upstairs and am too lazy to run up and grab it on my lunch break.  So I pull Geraldine McCaughrean’s The Death-Defying Pepper Roux off the emergency back-up pile on my desk (let’s not even talk about the fact that I keep “emergency back-up” books at a LIBRARY).  Pepper does the trick through lunch, but when I get home that night I want something with characters that are a little more adult.  I’m just not in the mood for a fourteen year old who thinks he’s cheated death (entertaining as that is).

So I grab Cindy Pon’s Silver Phoenix off the shelf at home, which I think I picked up when I saw it nominated for OYAN’s Book Rave.  And so far I’ve managed to make it about halfway through this.  I’ve only put it down to quickly skim through the end of Adam Rex’s The True Meaning of Smekday to refresh my memory on how they defeated the Gorg before my bookgroup met and discussed it (it doesn’t do to not remember what happened when you’re the one leading the discussion).  More on Smekday‘s smashing success later.

It’s a good thing I didn’t bring home the new Elizabeth Kostova when my hold came in, or I’d really be in trouble…

