I kept thinking it was about to rain today, so I never went for a walk.  Now I feel like it’s about to get dark and about to rain.  How is it still so light at 8 pm?  And why am I so lazy?

I just made – and ate – the most recent Long Distance Kitchen recipe, and I will skip ahead and tell you about it.  It’s the Disappearing Zucchini Orzo from Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.  Page 193 – I mention that because there is no index, a fact which I find appalling in any book containing recipes.  Apart from that, it’s a book I love, and I’m due for a reread.  Except it would just make me long to have a yard and garden again, which is not a possibility this summer (no yard, and virtually no sun on the balcony).  Maybe next year.

The zucchini orzo is super simple (although more ideal for those months when zucchini is in season, probably).  Cook some orzo.  Saute onion, garlic and grated zucchini in a little olive oil.  I grated the zucchini on that long, single spot on my cheese grater, which worked pretty well.  Add some oregano, thyme, whatever you want.  Add grated parmesan to the orzo, some salt, throw in the veggies, and you’re ready to eat.  The Kingsolvers suggest serving it cold or at room temperature with cold sliced chicken.  Since it’s chilly, I ate it warm with extra cheese while listening to a This American Life podcast.  I could’ve pulled some leftover chicken from the fridge, but it was pretty satisfying on its own.  I’ll definitely keep it in mind for future pasta/zucchini needs.  Especially since I basically have the recipe memorized after one time.  Excellent.

I finished up Ann Patchett’s The Patron Saint of Liars last night – boy does she have a way with characters – and now for something completely different I’m reading Ally Carter’s Heist Society. Just the thing for when you’re waiting to your cell service provider about obtaining a cheaper plan, because I’ve only used 4 minutes this billing cycle for crying out loud, and you’re not the type to amuse yourself by testing out the fancy new phones.

I get the Persephone Books catalog, even though I’ve never bought any, because I love reading their descriptions of things and someday, someday, I want to order a few.  Maybe soon.  I just have trouble deciding, and I’ve never bothered to check the exchange rate to see how much they’d actually cost.  But even their descriptions of postage options make me happy, so I’d probably better get around to ordering some.  “If you are unsure about which book to buy, please do discuss it with us – we can recommend books to take on holiday, for a rainy day, to give as presents, or a trio to start off with if you are a new Persephone reader.”  Hmm, guess I should discuss it with them.  As much as I love doing reader’s advisory, I really ought to try accepting it more often.

