Jumped Jumped by Rita Williams-Garcia

A day in the life, realistic story narrated by three high school girls. Each was completely distinct and believable in her own way, and it’s the type of story where you – like the characters – don’t know quite how things will resolve by the end. It’s intense, funny, and a little heart-breaking all at once. While I can’t fault it for anything in terms of characterization, pacing, or tone, I personally didn’t connect to the story.

I’d recommend it to teens looking for contemporary, realistic stories – especially ones dealing with conflict between girls. And, it occurs to me, it would also appeal to readers who don’t want a romance. There are mentions of boyfriends and sex, but the heart of the story is most definitely not concerned with romance or boys – it’s about how girls treat girls.

Source: my public library

View all my reviews >>

