The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick

I’m a little torn about Homer P. Figg. On the one hand, the book is smart and funny, with our hero on a quest that ends up being not what he expected, with an ending both satisfying and realistic and a brief but gritty look at the battlefield. On the other hand, it didn’t really stick with me. My initial reaction was to doubt that Newbery honor.

But you know what? The more I think about it, and read other reviews, I come back to that first hand. It succeeds admirably well at what it sets out to do. At times it’s light-hearted adventure, with balloon rides and con artists and plenty of truth-stretching on Homer’s part. The villain is over-the-top in a way that doesn’t diminish the destruction he causes. We see the war from a young boy’s eyes in a way that was surprisingly realistic in both its cowardice and heroism. But most of the story is really about Homer’s journey to find his brother, not about the war itself.

Now if someone would just PLEASE give this book a new cover, it might have a chance.

Source: my public library

View all my reviews >>

