Heist Society Heist Society by Ally Carter

Kat wants out of the family business, but when the family business is, um, theft, that can be a little tricky. Especially after her father is threatened and she’s got to find a way to steal back the paintings that he allegedly stole. A fun, fast-paced and snappy read that takes you through art heists, museum security, double dealing, and across Europe. The mood reminded me of the movie How to Steal a Million – and I don’t think that Audrey Hepburn-ish cover is an accident. And fortunately for us, Carter set things up for the possibility of a sequel – the main plot is tied up but a few personal loose ends are left hanging – and hopefully she won’t let us down. Perfect for a quick summer read.

This fits nicely into that inbetween area between children’s fiction and young adult – the characters are in high school and do crazy things like organize art heists, but there’s no violence and the romance is minimal and discreet, so I’d definitely hand it to a middle schooler.

Source: public library (and yeah, I ordered a copy for my library because I have the power!)

View all my reviews >>

