Well, it’s been 15 hours since I started the 48 Hour Book Challenge, and I’ve managed to spend most of the time sleeping.  Here’s what I’ve accomplished so far:

8-8:20 pm – finished reading Hester Among the Ruins, by Binnie Kirshenbaum, which I’d started reading a while ago.  I’m still trying to figure out what made the story so compelling, but I can’t put my finger on it.  Not a lot of plot, but fascinating (sometimes unlikeable) characters.

8:25-8:50 pm – started listening to the audio version of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane, by Katherine Howe, so that I could multitask.  I’ve been listening to another audio book in the car – The Islands of the Blessed – but didn’t feel like going out to fetch it.  I have bad luck trying to remember to bring CDs back and forth from house to car.  While I listened, I did the prep work for two batches of sherbet – lemon and mocha.

9:20-9:35 and 9:45-10 pm – continued listening to Deliverance Dane, with social time and phone calls in the gaps.

10:15-11:15 pm – switched to reading Princess of the Midnight Ball, by Jessica Day George, then went to bed.

8:10-9:20 am – resumed listening to Deliverance Dane while eating breakfast and having my morning coffee.  I finished the second disc and am getting into the story – the historian character just started exploring her grandmother’s ancient, crumbly house and I’m curious to see where things go.  The story takes itself fairly seriously, but it’s nicely atmospheric so I can forgive it for that.  Chock-full of sensory details.

9:20-10:55 am – finished reading Princess – a nicely satisfying fairy tale retelling that combined my favorite parts of the Dancing Princesses story with a dark backstory that made the whole thing make sense.

10:55-11:20 – checking in here.  Not sure if I want to write full reviews as I go, or just plow along with the reading.  Time to choose my next book!  After a brief break for things like brushing my teeth and getting dressed.

Hours of reading/checking in: 5 hours, 25 minutes.

