The CandymakersThe Candymakers by Wendy Mass

This is a first for me – reading the book prior to publication. But I’m glad I did, because this one will be fun to press into children’s hands come October.

The idea is fun: the story follows four children competing in a candymaking competition. One by one, we hear the story from each child’s point of view, something I didn’t realize until I was well into the first section. What makes this brilliant, rather than repetitive, is that Mass works completely new details into each account, the kinds of details that make you flip back to a previous section to see how that kid described the same incident. People hide things. People neglect to tell you things. Narrators are never completely reliable. But add up these four narrators, and you’ve got a pretty good idea of what happened over the three days the story covers. You’ve got a little mystery, a little action, characters who are hiding things, and plenty of yummy descriptions that will have you ready to tuck into something sweet.

Source: ARC from publisher

View all my reviews >>

