The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer, #1)The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

Despite the fact that I found Belly regularly annoying, this was still an engaging, fairly quick read. What made her faults bearable was that I knew she was growing up – that she didn’t always have a real grasp on what was going on around her, and that she was being 15-almost-16. She was also sympathetic in many ways, and I was happy to see the small ways that she grew over the course of the book. While the story is almost all about first love and crushes and growing up with this group of boys at their summer house, it’s a pretty innocent story in terms of content and would probably satisfy middle school girls looking for some romance, as well as high school girls who might have a more critical eye but could still do some swooning. Me, I didn’t swoon, even though I got invested in the characters. The ending caught me off guard – I wasn’t sure exactly what was happening – and now I want to pick up the sequel to see if it answers any questions. A good pick for a summery, beachy read with a little romance and a little heartbreak.

Source: my library system

View all my reviews

