Ever since I moved, I get this weird amnesia when I sit down at the computer – what was I going to do?  It leads to lots of staring into space and decidedly less time in front of the screen (probably a good thing).  I just discovered that the mail arrives around 4 pm on Saturdays – well, at least this Saturday.  What on earth would I do with myself if the window didn’t face the street?  I’m still dusting and rearranging and finding storage for odd items, but overall I’m pretty settled in and it’s starting to feel like home.

On the cooking front, I finally made the granola that Bronwen assigned ages ago (June 30th, to be exact).  The recipe was for Maple Butter Nut Granola, from Feeding the Whole Family. Basically, you mix together your dry ingredient – mostly rolled oats, with seeds, nuts, spices and a little salt.  I used about a 1/2 cup each of pecans, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, and sunflower seeds, with cinnamon.  Next time I might up the nuts and reduce the sesame seeds, which tended to sink to the bottom of the finished product.

Then you melt a 1/2 cup of butter and stir in a 1/2 cup of maple syrup and a tablespoon of nut butter – I used peanut butter.  Add some vanilla and almond extract and pour the wet ingredients over the dry ones.  Mix it all up, spread it on a cookie sheet or in a shallow pan, and bake at 325.  Mine took about 45 minutes, mixing it up every 15 minutes so it toasted evenly.  I might try a few minutes less next time since the nuts were just a trifle too toasty.

The results were super tasty with no clumps (I wonder what makes store-bought granola clumpy?)  I ate it with yogurt a few times, with milk on occasion, sometimes I threw in sliced figs or bananas, sometimes I just ate handfuls.  It’s nice and crunchy, and the kind of recipe that begs to be made again so you can try out different variations.  Almonds, walnuts, a little nutmeg, more nut butter…and I’ll definitely add some unsweetened coconut next time, because each time I sat down with a bowl I ended up sprinkling on a big handful (the kind from Bob’s Red Mill, the big flakes).  I’m a coconut fiend.  Also, I found it a much more satisfying breakfast than a bowl of off-brand Cheerios – much more substance.

