My parents host an annual Turkey Dinner in May – they cook a couple of turkeys and the traditional sides (stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy) and then they invite a ton of people over on Memorial Day weekend.  Guests can participate in the side-dish contest, which has evolved into a side-dish-and-dessert contest (I once took home the grand prize rubber chicken, and once the not-nearly-so-fun hat in the shape of a Thanksgiving table).  This year I had some stale bread and extra milk sitting around waiting to be used up, so I killed two birds with one stone by assigning this bread pudding as a Long Distance Kitchen recipe and then bringing it to the turkey dinner.

The recipe comes from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours (and you can find it online here). I’d never made a chocolate bread pudding before but it sounded great.  The only thing I changed in the recipe was omitting the (optional) raisins or cherries – although thinking about it now, cherries might be pretty tasty.

I’m not sure if I used too much bread or what, but the whole thing turned out to be not quite as gooey as I’d hoped.  I may have also used a crustier bread – a baguette, if my memory serves – which probably soaked up more of the wet ingredients than it ought.  The result was a little too much bread and not enough pudding.  Next time – and I’m sure I’ll try this one again – I’ll stick to one of the breads that the recipe recommends (brioche, challah, or white).  I blame this failure entirely on myself and not the recipe.  I know I’ve used baguette in other bread puddings, but perhaps they had more liquid to compensate.

Mmm, just thinking about this recipe months later makes me want to try it again – and perhaps whip up a sauce to serve with it.  It would also be delicious warm with a little vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.  No pictures exist – I was too busy trying all the other side dishes and desserts to take pictures – but you can read Bronwen’s recap and see how hers turned out (smart girl used brioche).

