Just thinking about this coleslaw makes me feel like it’s summer again!  Actually, I think the weather this month has been better than the weather in June, when I assigned Smitten Kitchen’s Not Your Mama’s Coleslaw.  October is actually sunny so far, although a little chilly, while June was pretty gray.

For the record, my mom makes a yummy coleslaw, although it’s pretty different in flavor from SK’s.  Hers is more tangy and sweet, with cabbage, carrots, and pineapple, while SK’s isn’t sweet at all and has a sort of earthier flavor with the blue cheese.

I started with some absolutely delicious farmer’s market carrots – seriously, I just wanted to gnaw on them.  Since this recipe calls for 4 large carrots, I think it’s important to get ones that taste good on their own, since the flavor really comes through.  End of carrot lecture.

Then you take half a head of green cabbage and half a head of red, and slice them up as thinly as possible.  I don’t know why, but thin-sliced cabbage tastes better.  It doesn’t make any sense, but I found myself reluctant to eat the thicker pieces in the coleslaw.

Toss together the cabbage, shredded carrots, and some chopped parsley.  Stop to admire it:

Is it not a thing of beauty?

So then you make a dressing from mayo, mustard, apple cider vinegar, celery seed, salt and pepper, and crumbled blue cheese, and toss the dressing with the vegetables.  Unless you like a lot of dressing, you have enough to make two batches of coleslaw, or to just use the leftovers as salad dressing.

If you like blue cheese, throw it all in.  If you’re not sure, add it a little bit at a time.  I happen to know some major blue cheese fans, and I like the stuff myself, so in it went.  It makes a big bowl, so I served it up when we had a crowd over for dinner.  It went over well, and it’s the kind of coleslaw to convert people who’ve only tried the mushy, pale green kind.

Bronwen made her own mayonnaise, which makes sense considering she’s not a big mayo fan and wanted to make it as tasty as possible.  I’ve always been perfectly satisfied with Trader Joe’s mayonnaise, so I used that quite happily.  It’s not a very runny dressing, which helps for non-mayo fans, although there are always hold-outs.

I’ll definitely be pulling this recipe out again next summer – although probably only when there’s a crowd to feed.

