The DreamerThe Dreamer by Pam Muñoz Ryan

Unfortunately I’ve waited too long to review this and many of the details are gone from my memory – I kept hoping I’d decide how I feel about it. On one hand, it’s absolutely gorgeous in terms of both design and how Ryan captures childhood imagination in words. On the other hand, it’s got a slow start and the poetic language took a while to pull me in. By the end I was emotionally engaged – something I think the story was trying to accomplish – but I can’t quite work up any enthusiasm for the book. I’d recommend it to adults, mostly, and kids who enjoy slower, dreamier stories.

Source: my public library

View all my reviews

PS: The Dreamer was on the list for the Mock Newbery I attended, and it was one of those titles where I wished someone would talk me into loving it.  That didn’t happen.  In my small group discussion, people had positive things to say but nothing that swayed my thinking one way or another.  It ended up with enough support to end up as one of our honor books – so obviously a few people loved it.  If it ends up actually winning any awards, I’ll have to give it a reread and see how I feel the second time around.

