Whee!  Here we go, a last-ditch effort to clean the slate from 2010 so that I can start talking about what I’m reading in this bright and shiny new year (it may be below freezing, but the sun is out, making the day bright and shiny) (why yes, I did have more coffee than usual this morning).

  • Extraordinary by Nancy Werlin: Fun, but not as gripping as Impossible.
  • As Easy as Falling Off the Face of the Earth by Lynne Rae Perkins: LRP has redeemed herself in my eyes – I am no longer a hater (cough, Criss Cross, cough) and enjoyed this one completely.  Her style suits the unlikely coincidences of the story, and I might even vote for this one at the Mock Printz.
  • Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi: Dark and tense and definitely recommended if you like that kind of dystopian adventure that re-imagines a landscape we know.  I don’t know if I enjoyed it, necessarily, but it was quite well done.
  • Amulet: The Stonekeeper’s Curse by Kazu Kibuishi: I’m really enjoying this graphic novel fantasy/adventure series – the illustrations are what pull me in, but the story is a lot of fun, too.  Start with book one, The Stonekeeper.  Book three is out, and the whole series has been really popular at my library.
  • The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan: Do I keep reading the prolific Mr. Riordan because I enjoy his books or so that I can be a well-informed librarian?  Both reasons, actually.   In case anyone’s been hiding under a rock, this one is set in the same world as the Percy Jackson books, but follows three new characters.  Riordan definitely hasn’t run out of stories and creatures from mythology, although he does mix things up a little bit here with more Roman mythology, and he hasn’t run out of jokes, either.  A must for fans – he doesn’t disappoint.
