Here’s an ‘adventures at the grocery store’ Long Distance Kitchen recipe, assigned last August and made sometime shortly after I moved in September –Orecchiette with Rapini and Goat Cheese.  The recipe comes from Saveur and is fairly simple and straightforward, once you’ve managed to identify rapini at the grocery store (I double-checked with a store employee who confirmed my diagnosis, and then had to tell the cashier what it was – glad I’m not the only one!)  According to the note in the recipe, it’s also known as broccoli rabe.  What I ended up with looked more like greens than broccoli, unlike Bronwen’s and Saveur’s, but it was slightly bitter and quite tasty in the recipe, so it all worked out.

Goat cheese is one of the things I love in this world, so I appreciate any opportunity to dollop it onto a meal, and the cheese and greens made a great contrast.  The garlic and red pepper flakes also did something nice in my mouth.  There are a lot of strong flavors going on, and it sort of took me a few bites to fall for it, but I ended up enjoying it and polishing off the leftovers with enthusiasm.  A good kicky pasta recipe to keep handy (I served mine with chicken thighs cooked according to a recipe from How to Cook Everything where you cook it in butter in the oven and sprinkle it with fresh parsley from time to time – it’s made me a chicken-parts convert).

Verdict: a keeper, but probably not for everyone.

