Whoa!  I just did the unthinkable.  I got up an hour early on a Monday morning in order to make more delicious steel-cut oats.  Two reasons: I polished off the first batch last week, and this week my in-the-house, read-to-eat options were cut down to…toast.  Or getting up early in pursuit of steel-cut goodness.  So up I got, and I toasted the oats, then boiled them, then let them simmer for half an hour, then sat down with a bowl and some maple syrup and a cup of coffee without cream. The recipe, naturally, came from Good to the Grain.

So getting up an hour early is the first unthinkable thing (I have problems leaving the house on time in the morning).  Taking pictures (although yes, the bowl is already empty – steel-cut oats just aren’t that photogenic without some attractive fruit on top) and immediately uploading them onto my computer is the second unthinkable thing.  The third is actually presenting them here before I even finished my second cup of coffee.  And as of this typing, I’m not yet running late for work.  You know, this is the way I used to blog.  I kind of miss it.

Clean Monday is off to a good start.  And tomorrow I can reheat leftovers and sleep a bit longer.  Although (shh, don’t tell) I’m enjoying this more relaxed morning routine.

