A Room Made of WindowsA Room Made of Windows by Eleanor Cameron

It’s a remarkable sensation to go back to a book that meant a lot to you as a child and wonder if the story and characters helped shape you in some way, or if you were already that way and it simply resonated with who you were then. I’m not sure which it was, but I know I read this several times, and as many of the other Julia Redfern books as I could get my hands on. The Private Worlds of Julia Redfern was another favorite – probably because these two are about the adolescent Julia, and I seem to remember finding her during middle school.

Cameron’s style is a combination of details and impressions – the mood of the moment, with delicious descriptions of things like meals or homes alongside the descriptions of impressions and thoughts and characters. Definitely not for the reader who likes action and drama, but perfectly suited to the more introspective, character-driven reader. This time around I loved Julia for her imperfections, the ways in which she’s blind to other people’s feelings, as well as her enthusiasms. Like L.M. Montgomery’s books, Cameron’s stories make me want a lovely house to live and write in, with a view of something natural and beautiful.

Copy from my library system (although I wish I owned it).

Oh, and how could I forget to mention Trina Schart Hyman’s illustrations?  I love everything she did, and I’m sure I’ve picked up books just based on the fact that she illustrated the cover.

Previously: my review of The Court of the Stone Children.
View all my reviews

