The Strange Case of Origami YodaThe Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I can see why this one has been so popular at my library: it’s got a great combination of hilarity and depth, it’s short and in an appealing format for more reluctant readers, and it has Star Wars references.

Each chapter is narrated by a different kid, each describing how Origami Yoda helped make a decision. The thing is that Origami Yoda is the creation of one of the oddest kids in the class, the kind of kid that no one would ordinarily listen to. But when he has Origami Yoda on his finger, Origami Yoda gives good advice. One kid wants to figure out whether or not he can trust OY before he (gulp) makes a move with the girl he likes.

I think the format makes this appealing to Wimpy Kid fans – not too many words on a page, illustrations, and lots of jokes, but this has a lot more depth than Kinney’s books, dealing with how the kids treat each other and real consequences to their actions. I’m quite pleased that I talked the bookgroup kids into reading this for June.

Source: my public library system

View all my reviews

