The Penderwicks (The Penderwicks, #1)The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I enjoyed this when I read it in 2005, and I enjoyed the 2nd one as well, so I thought I’d reread them on audio in preparation for the third book. I’m sure glad I did – I really loved the Penderwicks this time around. The audio versions are excellent – they feel like the sort of thing you should listen to on a family car-trip, with something for everyone. The range of kids is similar to other classic series like the The Saturdays (and yeah, I think the Penderwicks will reach classic status, too).

I’ve heard various complaints about these books – that they’re not original (too derivative of the older series) and that adults love them but kids don’t. Tell that to the girl who breathlessly asked in the children’s library if we had The Penderwicks at Point Mouette and was overjoyed when I grabbed it from the processing pile for her.

This first one might be my least favorite of the three – the series just keeps getting better. A little sweet, a lot funny, and some timeless adventures – just what you need for a summer audio book.

View all my reviews

