Doc: A NovelDoc: A Novel by Mary Doria Russell

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Russell can do some amazing things with character and setting, and her prose style is nothing to sneeze at either. Which explains why I picked up a book about historical figures that I knew nothing about. I mean, I’d heard to Doc Holliday and Wyatt Earp, but I literally had no idea what happened to them, why they’re famous, or how their stories played out. I intentionally didn’t look them up because I wanted to be surprised as the story unfolded.

Russell certainly makes them stand on their own as fascinating characters, so having no preconceptions worked just fine.  However, the end of the book totally fell flat since she did a lot of hinting/foreshadowing about the incidents that made them famous, but she never took us through those famous moments – they were only mentioned in what felt like a rushed conclusion. It’s a good book, but I might not have been the right reader for it.

Source: my public library

View all my reviews

