The Trouble With ChickensThe Trouble With Chickens by Doreen Cronin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Told in short chapters with plenty of illustrations, this would be a great read for young fans of mysteries. I don’t know if it would be the best introduction to the genre, but a kid who’s been listening to mysteries read aloud or digging Nate the Great and has a sense of the genre would get the humor here, I think. It’s not over-the-top or slapstick, but more of an homage to the noir genre populated with dogs and chickens. This would likely make a good read aloud, especially since there’s humor for both adults and kids. I’m looking forward to recommending this to families looking for mysteries to share as well as kids just diving into the world of chapter books.

Source: my library (which, yeah, means I bought it for the library in the course of my duties)

View all my reviews

