One False Note (39 Clues, #2)One False Note by Gordon Korman

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Like the first book, The Maze of Bones, this is a fast-paced story focused more on plot than it is on characters or style. The characters are still a bit flat, with more short-hand about their personalities (Amy is more timid, Dan takes more risks – Amy loves museums and libraries, Dan prefers electronics and action) but this isn’t a problem for kids who just want the action and mystery, or kids who struggle with reading and need to get hooked quickly without too much description. There’s just enough information about each place the kids visit – Austria and Venice – to add interest, along with a few funny incidents to vary the pace. The ending doesn’t really offer any resolution, sweeping you instead straight into the next stop – Tokyo.

I doubt I’ll continue with the series, but I’ll continue to recommend it to kids looking for quick, exciting reads.

Source: my public library

View all my reviews

