WonderstruckWonderstruck by Brian Selznick

Wonderstruck seems to be “that book” this year – the one that everyone else gushes over but in which I can’t see the same magic. Are the illustrations glorious at times? Is the interplay between the text-story and the picture-story beautifully paced? Yes, and yes. But – neither story felt emotionally resonant at the end. None of the characters leaped off the page as living, breathing people. There were some plot issues, which I won’t get into for fear of spoilers, that distracted me from the potential magic in the ending. To be honest, I had similar feelings about The Invention of Hugo Cabret, but the magic came through more strongly there and the resolution didn’t seem as based on plot holes as here. Still, it gets points because I loved the illustrations and enjoyed reading it.

Source: my public library

View all my reviews

