Leaving the Bellweathers Leaving the Bellweathers by Kristin Clark Venuti

A fun and off-beat story full of improbable characters and storylines, wordplay, endangered animals, eccentric parents, crazy triplets, an oath of fealty – you get the idea. It’s become a cliched comparison to say that it reminds you of Lemony Snicket, but it’s such a quick way to get the point across – the quirkiness, the wordplay, the narrative style – it’s definitely in that vein. While I didn’t necessarily find it a satisfying story, there’s no reason it shouldn’t appeal to kids who want something to read after polishing off A Series of Unfortunate Events.

View all my reviews >>

Crossing this title off my to-read list also fits in nicely with my goal of reading more of the books I buy for the library – I ordered this one a few months ago, but still.  I like to be able to tell people things about what’s on the new book shelf without resorting to what I learned from reviews.