Molly Moon's Incredible Book of Hypnotism (Molly Moon) Molly Moon’s Incredible Book of Hypnotism by Georgia Byng

My age 10 and up bookgroup chose this for their February read, so I hustled and got myself a copy. I’d seen the series at the library – it’s hard to miss those covers – but I’d never heard anything about them. Long but fairly fast-paced, we follow Molly Moon’s journey from homely orphan to Broadway star, all thanks to her ability to hypnotize. Things are wacky and Byng isn’t afraid of mildly gross humor, and a lot of Molly’s choices raise interesting moral questions, which all made for interesting discussion.

Entertaining, but treading an interesting line between humor and realism that made it hard for me to personally attach to the story on either level. Still, a good choice for kids looking for nutty adventure stories, and it was definitely a hit with my bookgroup – most kids rated it at 9 out of 10, and two of them went on to read the rest of the series.

View all my reviews >>