Alvin Ho Collection: Books 1 and 2: Allergic to Girls, School, and Other Scary Things and Allergic to Camping, Hiking, and Other Natural Disasters Alvin Ho Collection: Books 1 and 2: Allergic to Girls, School, and Other Scary Things and Allergic to Camping, Hiking, and Other Natural Disasters by Lenore Look

Alvin Ho has quickly become one of my favorite series to give to kids who are branching out into chapter books and looking for something funny (if people out there don’t think these books are funny, I don’t want to meet them). I read the second installment shortly after it came out, but never got around to reading the first book until I had the audio version in my hands. I’ll admit, the wacky narrator photo sold me on it. I wanted to hear that kid’s interpretation of Alvin (“that kid” being Everette Plen).

I wasn’t disappointed. The narration hits a nice balance between good pacing and an enthusiasm that’s unlike any I’ve heard from an adult narrator. This complements Alvin’s personality nicely – his sense of humor as well as his many, many fears. As I commented after reading Allergic to Camping, Look does a fantastic job of presenting all kinds of diversity in a way that feels realistic and never preachy – just a part of life.

While I wait for the next Alvin Ho book, I’ll continue recommending them to kids (and add this audio version to my recommendation). And I’m happy to see the first book on two children’s choice award lists this year – the new Oregon Reader’s Choice Award and the Beverly Cleary Children’s Choice Award.

View all my reviews >>

Source: my public library

