You are currently browsing the daily archive for September 27, 2005.

I’m glad we got all that Eragon nonsense out of the way. It’s out of my house and out of my life. Instead, we’ve got the pleasant and entertaining substitute of Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins. Yay for children’s fantasy! It’s not “wow” but I am whipping through it, and it has charm.

I’ve got all these things to write about but nothing is really settling down in my head. On my trip to Seattle/San Francisco, we had some conversations about how amongst friends who’ve known each other a while, some topics just don’t come up. Or you don’t feel comfortable asking questions. Or you learn something new about a person unexpectedly. What should I write about? What am I leaving out, here? I want questions and ideas, pretty please.

PS Did you know you can have a wedding registry on Amazon? That could be dangerous. Would I rather have flatware, sheets & a food processor, or every book I’ve ever wanted? Good thing I’m not getting married. Katy, you should have an Amazon registry.

Am I the only person in the world who thinks, “thank goodness it’s Monday, I can sleep in”? Cause I do. I had this Sunday deliciously off, but of course any Sunday off still involves getting up to teach Sunday school. But Monday? Monday I can sleep in. And Tuesday, too. And so on.

I had a dream where, if I remember correctly, there was some connection between rubbing my feet together and turning pages in a book. I get weird when I sleep, and any repetitive motion like that (or tossing & turning) takes on added meaning.

I can’t resist with the pictures, so there will be more, okay? Don’t try to stop me.

Sunday afternoon my sister called me from Strawberry Fields. Someone was playing “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds” on his guitar, and when she heard “Lucy” she looked up before she realized it was just the song. Anyway, she called me, and I was at Saturday Market (and Sundays, too, don’t you know) perusing some socks. The socks were intended for an internet friend. Don’t make fun of me, I have internet friends. And we give each other socks. Anyway, I was suddenly overcome with sock altruism, and had Lucy pick out a pair of socks over the phone. The sister, she only wears Converse. She needs some good socks for the coming winter. So the socks are going with my mom on a red eye flight to New York, where they will grace my sister’s feet. Ah, socks – how I love fall.

At the moment I’m celebrating the cool weather with domestic glory – pumpkin bread. My love of pumpkin bread grows by the season. I grabbed a bread pan off a high shelf (while wondering why the bread pan triplets had been separated) and discovered, to my shock and amusement, that it appears to have been unwashed after its last use. Um, Katy? I know you’re engaged and all but I think we still need to wash our dishes…

Excuse me, but I must get back to my preheating oven.

September 2005
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Flickr Photos